A Database is Just a Less-Dusty Library

"INFORMATION IS NOT KNOWLEDGE." ALBERT EINSTEIN

DATABASE ?

  • DATABASE DEFINED
  • GOOD FOR...?

UNLOCK THE DATABASE DOOR

  • KEYS TO SEARCHING
  • START WITH QUESTIONS
  • FIND THE 'RIGHT' WORDS
  • GOOGLE SCHOLAR

TYPES

  • SUBSCRIPTION
  • FREE
  • CONTENTS

CLASSROOM IDEAS

  • TUTORIALS
  • SEARCH BY SUBJECT
  • LESSON IDEAS
  • RESOURCE-BASED

HISTORY 12 - DETAILED MODEL

  • THE STUDY OF HISTORY
  • LINKS TO ARCHIVES, DATABASES, PRIMARY SOURCES

ETC.

  • CONTACT
  • MAIN PAGE

Contact Us

  • Suggestions, corrections, welcome
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported

DATABASES AND LIBRARIES CREATE ORDER OUT OF INFORMATION CHAOS.

Kobe2_1 Imagine... a room full of books, strewn all over the place, and consider how hard it would be to find a particular title (a little alphabetization would go a long way). 

Well, the Internet is just like that room.

And librarians and database designers  make things way easier for you.
 

How do databases and libraries create order out of chaos?

Why teach students how to access databases?

(photo source)   

...........................................

  • What is a database?  -  a lot of different things.
  • But, to be clear, let's use this definition: 
  • DATABASE: an organized collection of information in computerized format. 


  • Access to some databases is free, others, you enter through school library paid subscriptions (or the electronic journals of public and university libraries.


Why quote Albert Einstein?

 

 

Next »